top of page
Search

Life is What Happens to You While You're Busy Making Other Plans


This summer I decided to live in New York City for a month to see what happened. My goal was to find a reason to stay in New York for good. You see, we are in the Year of the Tiger, my year. The last Year of the Tiger was 2010, when I left New York to embark on a new career in yoga. The Year of the Tiger before that was 1998, when I moved to NYC after college to become a professional actor. I figured that this Year of the Tiger would bring me back to NYC. I had good friends to stay with, and I immediately fell back into step with the way I had lived as a New Yorker (once my calves stopped hurting from all of the walking).

I saw 6 Broadway shows and 6 off-Broadway shows. I celebrated the launch of my friends' new theatre in Times Square, I participated in a play reading, I auditioned and received an offer for the national tour of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, I had a final callback for the musical parody of Saw (the horror movie). I walked the length of Broadway (not all at once) and sampled food of every culture along the way. I met up with one of my oldest friends who is now a producer who convinced me to write a one-woman show.


It was a trip.

And then my producer friend told me about a job opportunity at SeaWorld in San Antonio. It sounded perfect for me so I applied. I interviewed the following week and got hired that same day...remotely from NYC.

So even though I won't be staying in NYC, my life has come full circle in a way. I started my career as a performer at Busch Gardens Williamsburg way back during my college days. After enjoying an eclectic career as a professional actress in NYC, a corporate recruiter in San Francisco, and a yoga therapist in San Antonio, my first day at the park showed me how all of these skills will come together with this new role of Show Creative Supervisor. I am managing over 300 performers, a gaggle of stage managers, and all of the Halloween shows at SeaWorld this season...and then I'll do the same for Christmas. And who can beat a first day filled with sea lions, balugas, and dolphins?



I will still be volunteering at Abode: Contemplative Care for the Dying, a beautiful residence here in San Antonio that partners with hospice centers to provide peaceful passing for people in their final months, weeks, days, or moments of life. Abode is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. We provide all of our care at no cost to the guests or family members, but greatly welcome donations. Read more HERE.

12 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page