top of page
Search

The End of an Era


When Marleen asked me to take the reins of her beloved yoga studio last year, I jumped at the opportunity. We were still in the thick of the pandemic and I loved teaching yoga online. It was a no brainer.


I had no idea what the next 12 months had in store for me. First there was my mother's illness and death. Then there was the diagnosis and treatment of my sister's cancer. Following that were family members and friends struck by the COVID-19 virus. My energy and attention were being pulled in every direction and my life had become a bit topsy-turvey.


Then there was the drop in attendance. We offered amazing programming at Lacuna Community: specialized yoga classes serving the cancer community, people undergoing chronic pain, people with addictions; creative expression classes such as writing workshops, acting classes, and voice classes; personal growth workshops highlighting job interview techniques, co-parenting support groups, mindful money workshops. We started a book club. We formed a troupe of creative types so they could have an outlet and a platform for their creative expression.


We had big plans and big ideas.


And then reality struck. People weren't interested in what we had to offer. There were a few exceptions, of course. About a dozen clients were in it with us - but they could only give so much.


And then I had a wonderful opportunity at Abode: Contemplative Care for the Dying to serve as an End of Life Coordinator.


And so I've decided to step away from my role as Programming Director of Lacuna Community. My personal life has become too full to manage the inconsistencies and struggles of running a nonprofit organization.


One of the biggest lessons yoga has taught me is self awareness. I am not the right fit for the role of Programming Director. And instead of ignoring the signs and continuing to stubbornly exert my energy in the wrong direction, I'm going to practice self compassion and acceptance.


I bow to Lacuna Community. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve.


Much metta to you all.

24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page